Agency

ATV-4 VNR

Date: Fri, May 31, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:20 GMT | 08:30 - 08:20 CEST

Replay: Fri, May 31, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Albert Einstein, the fourth of ESA's Automated Transfer Vehicles in a series of 5 is awaits launch to the International Space Station with lift-of on top of an Ariane 5 planned on 5 June at 21h52 GMT.

Filled to capacity, it's the heaviest spacecraft carried by this launcher to date.

After an automated docking procedure overseen by ESA's Luca Parmitano - who'll be onboard the ISS - Albert Einstein's cargo of vital supplies will be unloaded. It'll remain attached until October, before undocking and burning up over the Pacific Ocean.

ESA's ATV will shortly be adapted to function as the service module on NASA's Orion crew vehicle.

This Video News release recalls the different aspects of this European spacecraft, considered as the smartest vehicule in space today.

It includes  interviews with Nico Dettmann, Head of ATV Programme, ESA in English and German and Alberto Novelli, ATV-4 Programme Mission Manager, ESA in English, French and Italian.

More information at http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/ATV

PREVIEW AND DOWNLOAD

Script:
EbSI-078643.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.