Agency

Luca Parmitano in ISS: Volare Mission

Date: Tue, May 21, 2013 | 05:30 - 05:45 GMT | 07:30 - 07:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, May 21, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Volare is the name of ESA’s six-month mission to the International Space Station. ESA astronaut Luca Parmitano is the first of ESA’s new generation of astronauts to fly into space.

The Italian astronaut will be launched from Baikonur, Kazakhstan, on 28 May 2013 on a Soyuz rocket with Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin and NASA astronaut Karen Nyberg.

Luca will serve as flight engineer on the Station for Expeditions 36 and 37. He qualified as a European astronaut and was proposed by Italy’s ASI space agency for this mission. 

Volare will be ESA’s fifth long-duration Space Station mission.

During his 166 days in space, Luca will take part in around 20 ESA experiments covering many scientific areas, from human physiology and biology to fluid physics and materials science.

He will also perform spacewalks around the ISS. 

This video presents Volare mission and includes interviews with Luca Parmitano in English, Italian and French.  

More information: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Volare

 PREVIEW AND DOWNLOAD

Script:
EbS93477.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.