Agency

Sentinels for Copernicus

Date: Fri, Feb 12, 2016 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Fri, Feb 12, 2016 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

On 16 February 17h57 GMT Sentinel-3 A will be launched on top of a Rokot from the Russian Cosmodrome of Plesetsk, North of Russia.T

This satellite will be the third Sentinel for the  Copernicus Programme. 

Copernicus is the most ambitious Earth Observation programme to date. It will provide accurate, timely and easily accessible information to improve the management of the environment, understand and mitigate the effects of climate change and ensure civil security. This initiative is headed by the European Commission (EC) in partnership with the European Space Agency (ESA).

ESA coordinates the delivery of data and is developing a new family of satellites, the Sentinels, specifically for the operational needs of Copernicus. The EC, acting on behalf of the European Union, is responsible for the overall initiative, setting requirements and managing the services. 

These services fall into six main categories: land management, the marine environment, atmosphere, emergency response, security and climate change.

This video explains what the Sentinels represent within Copernicus.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2016/02/Sentinels_for_Copernicus

Script:
EbSI-115774.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.