Agency

IRIS Flight trials for safer air traffic

Date: Fri, Sep 14, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Fri, Sep 14, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Making aviation safer by developing a new satellite-based air–ground communication system for Air Traffic Management, this is the objective of Iris.

Iris is an ESA programme, in partnership with Inmarsat, to provide the satellite telecom technology for the so called Single European Sky which aims at boosting efficiency, capacity and performance of Air Traffic Management worldwide. 

Currently, aircraft are tracked by radar when over land and in coastal areas, and flight paths are negotiated by radio. However, once an aircraft heads out over the ocean Air Traffic Management is no longer possible until it reenters continental airspace. This means that flight paths are difficult to adjust in response to adverse weather and other factors, and wide buffers must be maintained between aircraft flying in a given oceanic corridor.

Flight trials are currently being conducted for Iris. Decreasing Europe’s reliance on voice-based terrestrial communication systems, Iris should allow aircraft trajectories to be optimized with regard to longitude, latitude, altitude and time. This means less cancellations and delays, and flights that are more cost-effective and fuel-efficient.

This A&B Roll shows recent trials from Schiphol Airport in the Netherlands.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications/Satellite_Communication_for_Air_Traffic_Management_Iris

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/07/Iris_flight_trials_for_safer_air_traffic

Script:
Iris_flight_trials_final A+ B Roll.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.