Agency

Sea level rise B-Roll

Date: Tue, Sep 25, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Sep 25, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

World-class scientists meet in the Azores to discuss the latest developments in our understanding of Earth’s surface variations observed by altimetry in a Symposium taking place in Ponta Delgada marking 25 years of Satellite Altimetry.

Radar altimeters record the surface topography along the satellite’s ground track. They precisely measure a satellite’s height above water, land or ice by timing the interval between the transmission and reception of very short radar pulses.  

Observations show that sea level is rising even faster than expected.

This B Roll includes new animation and footage on sea level rise, images of Ponta Delgada and interview with Jerome Benveniste,  Senior Advisor Earth Observation Science, Application and Climate Department, ESA in English, French and Italian.  

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/09/Sea_Level_Rise_Symposium_B-Roll

Script:
Sea Level Rise B-roll_Shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.