Agency

Sea Level rise accelerating

Date: Tue, Oct 02, 2018 | 05:30 - 05:45 GMT | 07:30 - 07:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Oct 02, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Sea level is now rising faster than expected : this is the conclusion of observations made from Space and analysed by the scientific community.

In a Symposium marking « 25 years of progress in Satellite Altimetry » World-class scientists just met in Ponta Delgado in the Island of Sao Miguel in the Azores.

They exchanged on the latest developments in our understanding of Earth’s surface variations observed by altimetry and all figures converge: sea level rise is confirmed and it has even accelarated in the last five years mainly because of global warming.

 

This A Roll shows latest animation on sea level rise and images of Sao Miguel Island in the Azores.

It includes interviews with Altimetry experts in English, French, Italian and German.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/09/Sea_Level_Rise_VNR

Script:
1813_ESA_Sea level rise accelerating_final script_shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.