Agency

CHEOPS: characterising Exoplanets

Date: Tue, Mar 12, 2019 | 07:30 - 07:55 GMT | 08:30 - 08:55 CET

Replay: Tue, Mar 12, 2019 | 16:00 - 16:25 GMT | 17:00 - 17:25 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

The space telescope CHEOPS (CHaracterising ExOPlanet Satellite) is being prepared at Airbus facility near Madrid, Spain.

 The telescope will study hundreds of known exoplanets using the transit method - measuring the dip in light as a planet transits its parent star.

CHEOPS will herald a new era of discovery. Its precision measurements will give more detailed information about a planet’s structure, atmosphere and surface temperature.

At the end of the year it will be launched as a co passenger on top of a Soyuz from Europe' Spaceport in French Guiana.

This A&Broll shows CHEOPS under preparation in Madrid. It comprises interviews with Nicola Rando, CHEOPS Project Manager, ESA in English and Italian, Kate Isaac, CHEOPS Project Scientist, ESA in English and Andres Borges Alejo, CHEOPS Project Manager, Airbus Defense and Space  in Spanish.

More information at: http://sci.esa.int/cheops/

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/03/CHEOPS_-_Characterising_Exoplanets

Script:
1903_005_ESA_Cheops_Characterising_Exoplanets_Script_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.