Agency

ESA Astronaut Luca Parmitano

Date: Wed, Jul 03, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CEST

Replay: Wed, Jul 03, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

On 20 July Luca Parmitano will fly to the International Space Station from the cosmodrome of Baikonur.

It will be the second mission in Space for the ESA astronaut.

Born in 1976, Luca Parmitano was in the Italian Air Force before joining ESA in May 2009. As a test pilot he has logged more than 2000 hours flying time on more than 40 types of aircraft, military airplanes and helicopters. 

As an ESA astronaut he was flight engineer between May and November 2013 for the Italian space agency's first long-duration mission on the ISS. 

This A&B Roll recalls Luca Parmitano's first mission and his recent training in Houston and Star City with an interview in English, Italian and French.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_and_Robotic_Exploration/Astronauts/Luca_Parmitano

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/07/Luca_Parmitano_from_Volare_to_Beyond

Script:
1907_001-ESA_Astronaut_Luca_Parmitano-SCRIPT-tc-ok.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.