Science & Exploration

Gaia astronomical revolution

Date: Tue, Oct 22, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:55 GMT | 08:30 - 08:55 CEST

Replay: Tue, Oct 22, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:25 GMT | 17:00 - 17:25 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Launched from Kourou in December 2013, the Gaia mission is revolutionising our understanding of the Milky Way.

 

The space telescope is mapping our galaxy in unprecedented detail – measuring the position, movement and distance of stars.

 

Scientists meeting at a conference in the Netherlands have been discussing the latest results of this ESA mission. These include a new understanding of how stars cluster together and the fact that today’s Milky Way was formed from a merger of galaxies.

 

This A & B roll shows Gaia's latest results, it includes interviews with Fred Jansen, ESA Gaia Mission Manager, in English and Dutch, Jackie Faherty, Astrophysicist, American Museum of Natural History in English and Amina Helmi, Astrophysicist, University of Groningen in English, Dutch and Spanish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Gaia

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/10/Gaia_astronomical_revolution

Script:
GAIA astronomical revolution.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.