ESA title
Safety & Security

Space19+: Protecting our planet

Date: Fri, Nov 22, 2019 | 07:30 - 07:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CET

Replay: Fri, Nov 22, 2019 | 16:00 - 16:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

On 27 and 28 November in Sevilla, Spain will take place the ESA Council at Ministerial level, "Space19+".

Ministers from ESA Member States will gather to discuss future space activities for Europe and the budget of ESA for the next three years.

The European Space Agency is seeking an increase in funding for the mandatory programme supported by all Member States, and for an ambitious portfolio of optional programmes. These are structured along four main pillars: science and exploration, space safety and security, applications and enabling and support activities.

This Proposal carry an overarching moto of Inspiration, Competitiveness ans Responsibility.

This video examines how new space technology can protect us from asteroids and solar flares, as well as deal with the growing threat from space debris.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Safety_Security

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/11/Space_19_Protecting_our_planet

Script:
Space 19-3_Protecting our planet_FINAL_TC-OK.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.