ESA title
Back to Index Dutch French German Italian Spanish

N° 1–2022: Call for media: Director General’s Annual Press Conference

13 January 2022

We’re inviting media to join our start-of-year press conference looking ahead at 2022. ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher and ESA Directors will meet you online on 18 January 2022.

In 2022, we are looking forward to, among other things, the launches of the joint ExoMars 2022 exploration mission to the Red Planet, scheduled to lift off from Baikonur Cosmodrome in September 2022 and the launch of Artemis I to the Moon, the first mission for NASA’s Orion spacecraft with its European Service Module (ESM). ESA astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti will start her second mission to the International Space Station. The James Webb Space Telescope will provide its first images and, by the end of the year, we will be welcoming a new group of European astronauts.


In the context of an ambitious, record-breaking ESA budget envelope and a close strategic partnership with the European Union, ESA will organise the next ESA Council at Ministerial Level scheduled for November in Paris.

ESA TV news agenda preview 2022:

ESA Highlights 2022:

Programme (times in CET)

Tuesday, 18 January 2022

10:00   Introductory remarks followed by key themes and events for the coming year. The floor will then be opened for an interactive question-and-answer session with the ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher and ESA Directors.

11:30    End


The press conference will take place online.

Media representatives are invited to register at the following link: the latest by Monday, 17 January 2022. Afterwards, media will receive additional information and the link to join the interactive online session (WebEx platform).

The press conference will also be streamed at, but only registered media will be able to ask questions.

Upcoming ESA events are posted on the launch calendar and events calendar at


If you have further questions or interview requests, please contact

Social media

Follow ESA on

Twitter: @ESA
Instagram: Europeanspaceagency
Facebook: EuropeanSpaceAgency
YouTube: ESA


Terms and conditions for using ESA images:

For questions or more information related to ESA images, please contact directly

Terms and conditions for using ESA videos:

For questions or more information related to ESA videos, please contact directly

Follow online

The press conference will be hosted on ESA Web TV:  

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia, Latvia and Lithuania are Associate Members.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information:

ESA Newsroom and Media Relations Office – Ninja Menning


Tel: +31 71 565 6409