ESA title

Volare is the name of the first long-duration mission of Italy's ASI space agency, with ESA astronaut Luca Parmitano of Italian nationality. Luca was launched from Baikonur, Kazakhstan, on a Soyuz rocket with Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin and NASA astronaut Karen Nyberg. He served as flight engineer on the Station for Expeditions 36 and 37 and was the first of ESA’s new generation of astronauts to fly into space. 

Volare was ESA’s fifth long-duration Space Station mission. Luca took part in around 20 ESA experiments covering many scientific areas, from human physiology and biology to fluid physics and materials science.

Launch: 29 May 2013 02:31 local time (28 May 20:31 GMT, 22:31 CEST)

Launch site: Baikonur, Kazakhstan

Spacecraft: Soyuz TMA-09M Olympus

Expedition: 36/37 

Docking: 6 hours after launch at 02:17 GMT (04:17 CEST)

Landing: 11 November 2013 02:49 GMT (03:49 CET)

Volare

Latest

  • Science & Exploration

    Luca liftoff!

    28/05/2013 4809 views 50 likes
    Open item
  • Science & Exploration

    ISS Expedition 37 crew portrait inside Kibo

    24/10/2013 8331 views 31 likes
    Open item
    Expedition 37 crew photo
  • Science & Exploration

    Luca Parmitano's first spacewalk

    11/07/2013 5454 views 16 likes
    Open item
  • Science & Exploration

    Perfect sky

    25/06/2013 6591 views 57 likes
    Open item
    Luca Parmitano's view of our planet
  • Science & Exploration

    A window on the world

    02/07/2013 4613 views 32 likes
    Open item
    A window on the world
  • Science & Exploration

    Cygnus

    18/02/2014 5247 views 88 likes
    Open item
    Cygnus
  • Science & Exploration

    Luca in NASA spacesuit

    16/04/2013 4190 views 3 likes
    Open item
    Luca tests his NASA spacesuit
  • Science & Exploration

    Luca spacewalker

    11/09/2013 4454 views 47 likes
    Open item
    Luca spacewalker
  • Science & Exploration

    Interview with Luca just after landing

    11/11/2013 8873 views 11 likes
    Open item
    Interview with ESA astronaut Luca Parmitano.
Science & Exploration

Luca looks back on Volare

08/11/2013 4297 views 10 likes
Open item

Recommended

Related

Science & Exploration

Critical Situation

19/08/2013 64778 views 122 likes
Open item