Space for Kids

Kids (en)
Our Universe
Life in Space
About ESA for Kids
Space for Kids Homework Section

The European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) was started in 1975, and is made up of 22 countries. Most of these countries are too small to take part in big space projects on their own.

By working together as a team, they can play an important part in many different space activities.

European countries now make some of the most important rockets and satellites in the world. ESA countries are also leaders in building satellites. These are the companies that help to design, build, test and launch satellites, helping to make our lives back on Earth much better. European satellites are used by millions of people every day. They show us what the weather will be doing, how land is used and how to find our way on the roads. We also use them for telephones and astronomy.
The countries that are members of ESA are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.
Copyright 2000 - 2018 © European Space Agency. All rights reserved.