Agency

Harwell, new ESA establishment

Date: Wed, May 29, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Wed, May 29, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

A major new centre dedicated to developing new space technologies and applications has been unveiled by the European Space Agency, ESA.

The European Centre for Space Applications and Telecoms, ECSAT, is being built in the UK, at Harwell near the city of Oxford.

It is the first major ESA centre to be built in Britain – recognising the country’s new position as the third largest funder of the Agency – and will be located alongside many other space technology facilities with thousands of skilled staff.

This video includes interviews with Magali Vassiere, ESA Director of Telecommunications and Integrated Applications, David Parker, Director General UK Space Agency and Richard Holdaway, Director RAL-Space,

For more information : http://www.esa.int/About_Us/Welcome_to_ESA/ECSAT

PREVIEW AND DOWNLOAD

Script:
EbSI-078641.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.