ESA title
Agency

Sentinel 2 Mission VNR

Date: Tue, Jun 09, 2015 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Jun 09, 2015 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 18:00 - 18:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

On 23 June at 01:52 GMT (03:52 CEST 23 June; 22:52 local time 22 June) Sentinel-2 A will be launched from Europe's Space port in French Guiana on top of a Vega.  This satellite will be the second Sentinel for the  Copernicus Programme. 

Sentinel-2 will carry an optical payload with visible, near infrared and shortwave infrared sensors with a swath width of 290 km. It is a polar-orbiting, multispectral high-resolution imaging mission for land monitoring to provide, for example, imagery of vegetation, soil and water cover, inland waterways and coastal areas. Sentinel-2 will also deliver information for emergency services.

It is part of the family of missions called Sentinels that ESA is developing specifically for the operational needs of the Copernicus programme, the Global Monitoring for Environment and Security programme headed by the European Commission.

Each Sentinel mission is based on a constellation of two satellites to fulfill revisit and coverage requirements, providing robust datasets for Copernicus Services.

This A&B roll shows Sentinel-2 A in preparation in Germany and in Kourou and explains the challenges of this mission launched by the 5th Vega..

It includes interviews with Reinhard Schulte-Braucks, Director of Copernicus Infrastructures, European Commission, in English, Bianca Hoersch, Sentinel-2 Mission Manager, ESA, in English and German and Fran├žois Spoto, Sentinel 2 Project Manager, ESA, in English and French.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus/Sentinel-2

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/06/Sentinel-2A_Ready_to_launch

Script:
EbS97719.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.