Science & Exploration

Solar Orbiter live launch from Cape Canaveral

Date: Mon, Feb 10, 2020 | 03:30 - 05:30 GMT | 04:30 - 06:30 CET

Type: ESA TV Live

Format: 16:9

ESA’s new Sun-exploring mission, Solar Orbiter, is set for launch at 23:03 on 9 February in Florida, 04:03 GMT (05:03 CET) on 10 February 2020.

Solar Orbiter will separate from the rocket about 53 minutes after launch and is expected to send its first signal to the ground shortly thereafter.

The live transmission will cover operations from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida with Atlas 5 launch and flight and European Space Operations Centre (ESOC), in Darmstadt, Germany, which will operate the entire mission.

03:30 GMT (04:30 CET) – Broadcast starts
04:03 GMT (05:03 CET) – Liftoff
04:55 GMT (05:55 CET) – Solar Orbiter spacecraft separation
04:59 GMT (05:59 CET) – Earliest signal acquisition opportunity
05:19 GMT (06:19 CET) – Expected solar array deployment
05:20 GMT (06:20 CET) – Official speeches

Note that there is a 2 hours launch window.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Solar_Orbiter

Satellite Parameters:

 

Eutelsat 7B @ 7degEast

Txp B6 Ch C (9MHz)
D/l: 11144.83 MHz Pol Y/vertical
Signal: HD 1080i/50 MPEG4 4:2:0 (H264) clear, SR: 7200 Ms/s FEC: 3/4
Mod: DVB-S2/8PSK Audio PIDs: Open/mono Pilot:On Roll-off: 0.2 DR: >15k

For any inquiries regarding satellite or ftp reception please contact the ESA TV production team:

At KSC Dominique Detain at dominique.detain@esa.int  / tel + 33 685 114 681
At ESOC Chris Courtenay Taylor at chistct@worldwidegroup.global  / tel + 44 7774 275 951