ESA title
Back to Index Dutch French German Italian Spanish

N° 1–2021: Call for media: Director General’s Annual Press Conference

5 January 2021

We’re inviting media to a start-of-year press conference looking ahead in 2021. ESA Director General Jan Wörner, future ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher and other ESA Directors will meet the media online in the morning of Thursday, 14 January 2021.

To name just a few of the highlights: a new Director General will take up duty in July, two ESA astronauts will fly to the International Space Station and the new James Webb Telescope – a joint NASA/ESA/CSA project and the successor of the Hubble Telescope - will be launched into space from the European Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana. Webb will improve our understanding of the formation of galaxies, stars, planets and, ultimately, perhaps the origins of life. The end of the year will see the launch of NASA’s first Artemis mission, in a programme that will take humans to the Moon powered by ESA’s European Service Module.

ESA Preview 2021:

Programme (times in CET)

Thursday, 14 January 2021

10:30   Introductory remarks followed by key themes and events for the coming year. The floor will then be opened for an interactive question-and-answer session with the ESA Director General and Programme Directors.

11:30    End


The press conference will take place online.

Please register online at: by 12 January 2021.

The press conference will be streamed at, but only registered media will be able to ask questions.

Upcoming events are posted on the launch calendar and events calendar at


If you have further questions or interview requests, please contact

Social media

Follow ESA on

Twitter: @ESA
Instagram: Europeanspaceagency
Facebook: EuropeanSpaceAgency
YouTube: ESA


Terms and conditions for using ESA images:

For questions or more information related to ESA images, please contact directly

Terms and conditions for using ESA videos:

For questions or more information related to ESA videos, please contact directly

Follow online

The press conference will be hosted on ESA Web TV:  

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia and Latvia are Associate Members.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information:

ESA Newsroom and Media Relations Office – Ninja Menning


Tel: +31 71 565 6409