Back to Index French German
Science & Exploration

N° 11–2018: Call for media: follow the launch of ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst

22 May 2018

ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst will be launched into space on 6 June at 11:12 GMT (13:12 CEST) alongside Roscosmos commanderSergei Prokopyev and NASA astronaut Serena Auñón-Chancellor.

The trio will blast off from Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan and will arrive at the International Space Station two days later, marking the start of Alexander’s Horizons mission.

Media are invited to the launch event in Berlin, Germany at the Zeiss-Großplanetarium.

Journalists will have the opportunity to learn more about the Horizons mission from astronauts, scientists and space experts, conduct interviews and follow the launch live.

This will be Alexander’s second spaceflight. He is also the second ESA astronaut to take over command of the International Space Station. The science programme is packed with European research: more than 50 experiments will deliver benefits to people on Earth as well as prepare for future space exploration.


Media accreditation

Media representatives with press or social media credentials can register here:

Latest date for registration is 4 June.




Prenzlauer Allee 80

10405 Berlin




10:00–11:30 GMT (12:00-13:30 CEST)

Doors open at 09:00 GMT (11:00 CEST)

Interview opportunities until 12:30 GMT (14:30 CEST)


Follow online

The launch will be broadcast live (in english language) from 10:00 GMT (12:00 CEST) at:

The Berlin launch event will be broadcast live (in german language) from 10:00 GMT (12:00 CEST) at:


Social media

Follow Alexander Gerst and the Horizons mission on social media through:  

For live updates throughout the launch period, follow @esaspaceflight, @Astro_Alex and @esa on Twitter with hashtag #Horizons.

News will be shared on Facebook on ESA’s official page as well as on Instagram


Further information

EAC Communication Office
Tel: +49 2203 6001 111


About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia is an Associate Member.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space. ESA also has a strong applications programme developing services in Earth observation, navigation and telecommunications.

Learn more about ESA at

For further information, please contact:
ESA Media Relations Office
Tel: +33 1 53 69 72 99