Agency

EDRS: European Data Relay in Space soon

Date: Tue, Jan 19, 2016 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Jan 19, 2016 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Soon EDR-A, the first element of European Data Relay System, the "space data highway",  will be launched with Eutelsat9B on top of a Proton rocket from Baiknour Cosmodrome.

This innovative European-designed technology will enable high-speed communications between spacecraft in orbit, proving a wide range of new applications.
Lift off is currently scheduled on 27 January at 22h19 GMT.
The story contains an interview in English and French of Magali Vaissiere, Director of Telecommunications and Integrated Applications, ESA.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications/EDRS

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2016/01/EDRS_European_Data_Relay_soon_in_space

Script:
EbSI-115033.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.