Agency

ExoMars: ready for science

Date: Tue, May 15, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, May 15, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

 

 

ESA’s Trace Gas Orbiter (TGO) is part of what is known as ExoMars mission.

 

This orbiter arrived at Mars in October 2016.

 

After a year spent carefully adjusting its position, the spacecraft is now beginning its science operations.

 

The Trace Gas Orbiter’s instruments will be able to look through the atmosphere to identify trace gases - in particular methane, which could indicate signs of past or even present life. The orbiter will also act as a relay for rovers on the Martian surface.

 

This A&B roll explains the current status of TGO and includes interviews with Michel Denis, ExoMars Flight Operations Director, ESA  and Hakan Svedhem, TGO Project Scientist, ESA .

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/ExoMars

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/05/EXOMARS_ready_for_science

Script:
ExoMars_ready for science_FINAL.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.