Science & Exploration

iriss live

10/09/2015 57040 views 176 likes
ESA / Science & Exploration / Human and Robotic Exploration / iriss

Watch ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen return to Earth in the Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft on 12 September from 00:30 to 01:30 GMT (02:30 to 03:30 CEST). Undocking from the International Space Station is planned for 11 September 21:25 GMT (23:25 CEST) with landing expected at 00:49 GMT (02:49 CEST) the next day.

 

ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen is on a 10-day mission to the International Space Station to test technology, new ways of running space missions and swap a spacecraft.

Launch: He was launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 04:37:43 GMT, 06:37:43 CEST, 10:37:43 local Baikonur time.

Within 10 minutes of liftoff, Andreas, Roscosmos commander Sergei Volkov and Kazakh cosmonaut Aidyn Aimbetov travelled over 1640 km and gained 210 km altitude. Every second for nine minutes, their spacecraft accelerated 50 km/h on average.

Docking: Docking with the International Space Station happened in the morning of Friday 4 September at 07:39 GMT (09:39 CEST). The astronauts opened the hatch between the spacecraft at 10:15 GMT (12:15 CEST).

On Earth, ESA’s Columbus Control Centre at Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich, Germany, will be following and helping Andreas non-stop during his sprint.

Follow the whole mission with live updates via the iriss mission blog and on Twitter via @esaoperations

Connect with Andreas at: andreasmogensen.esa.int

Related Articles

Science & Exploration

Astronaut brains as beacons for researchers

08/10/2015 5637 views 58 likes
Open item
ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen back on Earth
Science & Exploration

Andreas Mogensen lands after a busy mission on Space Station

12/09/2015 8915 views 55 likes
Open item
Science & Exploration

Supervising two rovers from space

11/09/2015 4996 views 58 likes
Open item
Andreas controlling rover
Enabling & Support

Slam dunk for Andreas in space controlling rover on ground

08/09/2015 7398 views 82 likes
Open item
Science & Exploration

ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen begins busy International Sp…

04/09/2015 7248 views 41 likes
Open item
Science & Exploration

ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen launched to Space Station

02/09/2015 14531 views 63 likes
Open item
Science & Exploration

Longer flight to the International Space Station for Andrea…

27/08/2015 5629 views 62 likes
Open item
Andreas Mogensen
Science & Exploration

ESA’s next astronaut to go into space arrives at launch site

19/08/2015 5425 views 39 likes
Open item
Andreas Mogensen
Science & Exploration

Andreas Mogensen launch moved by a day

24/07/2015 6879 views 48 likes
Open item
Andreas during a simulation inside the full-scale mockup of the Soyuz capsule
Science & Exploration

100 days to Andreas Mogensen’s mission

22/05/2015 5408 views 38 likes
Open item
iriss logo
Science & Exploration

Space viking: Andreas Mogensen unveils mission logos

10/10/2014 5704 views 46 likes
Open item
Underwater base
Science & Exploration

Underwater return for Andreas and Thomas

10/06/2014 3918 views 41 likes
Open item
Andreas using a flare for survival training
Science & Exploration

Andreas Mogensen’s mission name links cosmos and Earth

28/04/2014 4406 views 39 likes
Open item
Andreas Mogensen
Science & Exploration

Andreas Mogensen set for Soyuz mission to Space Station in …

28/08/2013 11096 views 37 likes
Open item

Related Links