Applications

ESAIL Maritime microsatellite

Date: Tue, Mar 10, 2020 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Mar 10, 2020 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

ESA’s ESAIL microsatellite will soon be launched on a Vega from Europe' spaceport in French Guiana

It will help improving maritime traffic management around the Earth.

SAT- AIS is a space based Automatic Identification System that will make it possible to track ships beyond coastal areas equipped with tracking devices, overcoming terrestrial coverage limitations.

ESAIL, developped by LuxSpace, is a small 100 kg satellite that will enhance the current SAT-AIS satellite constellation with innovative technologies to provide identification and positioning information to both vessels and shore stations.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Applications/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.