Agency

Alphasat : New Partnership in Sat Com

Date: Fri, Jul 12, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Fri, Jul 12, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Alphasat, the largest European telecom satellite ever built, will soon be launched on top of an Ariane 5 from Europe's Spaceport in French Guiana. 

Alphasat is also a new approach for ESA Telecom, based on a public private partnership : ESA partnered with Inmarsat, the global mobile telecommunications operator.

Engineered and built by Astrium, Alphasat, with its new-generation advanced geomobile communications payload, will provide access to a wide range of high data rate services for aeronautical, land and maritime users across Europe, Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

Alphasat is also the first flight opportunity for the Alphabus platform, a high-power platform developped by ESA and CNES, with Astrium and Thales Alenia, that gives European industry a unique position in the world telecom market.

This A & B Roll video explains the Public Private Partnership between ESA and Inmarsat, which represents a new era for Satellite Communications in Europe.

It includes interviews with Magali Vaissière, Director of Telecommunications and Integrated Applications, ESA (in English and French), Rupert Pearce, CEO Inmarsat (in English), Philippe Roy, Alphabus Project Manager, CNES (in French).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications/Alphasat

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2013/06/Alphasat_new_partnership_in_SatCom

Script:
EbSI-080268.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.