Agency

ExoMars Status : Six months in Orbit

Date: Tue, May 02, 2017 | 06:00 - 06:15 GMT | 08:00 - 08:15 CEST

Replay: Tue, May 02, 2017 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Six months after its arrival at Mars (on 19 October 2016), Mission controllers of ESA’s Trace Gas Orbiter have begun the challenging process of adjusting the spacecraft’s orbit. This involves using the shifting Martian atmosphere to gradually slow the satellite, in a process known as aerobraking.

 

Meanwhile, as the final design of the rover nears completion, the team developing the ExoMars 2020 mission has shortlisted two final landing sites, in areas where they believe traces of life are most likely to be found.

 

This report contains new animations showing aerobraking orbits of the Trace Gas Orbiter, and designs for the final configuration of the 2020 rover. It also shows the ExoMars control workstation at ESOC and includes interviews recorded at ESA centres of ESOC and ESTEC.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/ExoMars

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/04/ExoMars_Six_months_in_orbit

Script:
ExoMars_six months in orbit_Finalscript_shotlist+TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.