Agency

Ice Coverage: the global thaw

Date: Tue, May 07, 2019 | 06:30 - 07:00 GMT | 08:30 - 09:00 CEST

Replay: Tue, May 07, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:30 GMT | 17:00 - 17:30 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Climate change is real and one of its well-known effect is the melting of the polar ice caps. However melting ice can be found all around our planet and not only in the polar regions.

This global trend of melting ice caps, glaciers, sea ice, and permafrost is a worrying one.

This impacts our planet on a number of levels ranging from facilitating climate change itself, to loss of drinking water and impacting agriculture dependent on glacial meltwater.

The global thaw will have enormous consequences in the future for life on Earth. 

This A& B roll recalls the status of ice coverage around the Earth. it includes an interview with Mark Drinkwater, Head of Earth and Mission Science Division, ESA 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/05/Ice_coverage_-_the_global_thaw

Script:
1905_002_ESA_Living_Planet_Ice_Script_Shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.