Agency

Monitoring Air Pollution

Date: Tue, May 14, 2019 | 16:00 - 16:40 GMT | 18:00 - 18:40 CEST

Replay: Wed, May 15, 2019 | 06:30 - 07:10 GMT | 08:30 - 09:10 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Since the 20th century industrialization has had an enormous impact on the quality of the air we breathe.

According to the European Environmental Agency 90 % of city dwellers in Europe are exposed to pollutants.

Concentrations is higher than the air quality levels deemed harmful to health, resulting in over half a million premature deaths in Europe every year.

Since more than 30 years Space has brought us information on our atmosphere and satellites from the European Space Agency and the European Union’s Copernicus programme do monitor the air quality across the globe and in Europe in particular.

This A&B roll explains what space has shown us about the quality of the air we breathe. It includes interviews with Claus Zehner, Sentinel-5P Mission Manager, ESA, (English) Pepijn Veefkind, Principal Investigator for TROPOMI Sentinel 5P, KNMI (English & Dutch)and Vincent-Henri Peuch, Head of Copernicus Atmosphere Monitoring Service, ECMWF (English).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/05/Air_quality_Take_a_deep_breath

Script:
1905_003_Monitoring-air-pollution_final script_shotlist-TC.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.