Agency

CHEOPS : Science in action

Date: Tue, Sep 17, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CEST

Replay: Tue, Sep 17, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Scientists at the Geneva Observatory in Switzerland will be processing data from CHEOPS (CHaracterising ExOPlanet Satellite) - a powerful telescope that will soon be studying stars outside our Solar System already known to host planets.

 

The Observatory has a rich history studying exoplanets: in 1995, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz discovered the first exoplanet orbiting a Sun-like star.

The CHEOPS mission is a partnership between ESA and Switzerland with important contributions from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

The CHEOPS launch slot is scheduled by end of 2019.

This A&B roll contains interviews with Didier Queloz, Chair of the CHEOPS Science Team, University of Geneva, Willy Benz, CHEOPS Principal Investigator,University of Bern and Matthias Beck, CHEOPS Ground Segment Manager,University of Geneva).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Cheops

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/08/Cheops_science_in_action

Script:
CHEOPS SCIENCE IN ACTION - FINAL.docx.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.