Agency

Tracking satellites from the Arctic

Date: Tue, Sep 10, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:40 GMT | 08:30 - 08:40 CEST

Replay: Tue, Sep 10, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:10 GMT | 17:00 - 17:10 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Many of the satellites that gather information on the health of our planet pass over the polar regions pass above the North and South Poles.

Satellite ground stations located in these remote areas are best positioned to collect the data and talk to the missions passing above them.

This video presents the most northern ground station ESA is using – SvalSat, located within the Arctic Circle – where co ntact is made with many of ESA’s Earth observation missions. It includes interviews with Ole Petter Storstad, Svalsat Station Director, KSAT in English and Norwegian and Jenny Jonsson, Sentinel Service Manager, KSAT in English and Sweden.

The Svalsat station contributes to ESA's global tracking station network, Estrack.

More information at: http://estracknow.esa.int/

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2019/09/Tracking_satellites_from_the_Arctic

Script:
Tracking satellites from the Arctic Final.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.