Science & Exploration

Luca Spacewalk # 4 for AMS

Date: Sat, Jan 25, 2020 | 11:15 - 17:50 GMT | 12:15 - 18:50 CET

Type: ESA TV Live

Format: 16:9

ESA astronaut Luca Parmitano and NASA astronaut Andrew Morgan will perfom the 4th spacewalk to service the cosmic-particle-hunting Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer.

These so-called Extra Vehicular Activities (EVA) are the most challenging since work to repair the Hubble Space Telescope.

The previous EVAs have been successfull  and now the Luca and Andrew should complete their tasks on AMS.

The full spacewalk will be relayed live via satellite and streamed on ESA Web TV from 12:15 CET (11:15 GMT). The astronauts should exit the airlock at 11:50 GMT and the EVA is planned for 6 hours.

The Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) is a sub-atomic particle detector that looks for dark matter, antimatter and measures cosmic rays - high energy particles that travel through space at close to the speed of light. But AMS was not designed for maintenance on orbit. The repair of the AMS’ cooling system will ensure that it can continue to provide more data and more groundbreaking science.

More information at: http://lucaparmitano.esa.int/

Satellite Parameters:

Eutelsat 10A @ 10degE
Transponder B1 Channel D (9MHz)
D/l freq: 10987.17 MHz Pol X
Signal: 1080i/50 MPEG4 420 clear SR: 7200 FEC: 3/4 Mod: DVBS2/8PSK Pilot:ON R/O: 0.2 DR: >15MHz

For any inquiries regarding satellite or ftp reception please contact the ESA TV producer:
Chris Courtenay Taylor at chrisct@worldwidegroup.global / tel + 44 7774 275 951