Agency

Alphasat : Technology Demonstration

Date: Tue, Jul 16, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Jul 16, 2013 | 11:00 - 11:15 GMT | 13:00 - 13:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Europe’s powerful new communications satellite, Alphasat, is due for launch this month of July on top of an Ariane 5 from Europe' Saceport in Kourou, French Guiana.

The mission – a partnership between the European Space Agency and commercial operator Inmarsat – will be the first test of Alphabus, the large Platform developed by ESA and CNES with Astrium and Thales Alenia.

 Alphasat is considered as the most sophisticated commercial communications satellite ever flown with several technological innovations

In addition to its major payload for Inmarsat's global mobile communications, the spacecraft also hosts four Technology Demonstration Payloads developed through ESA’s Advanced Research in Telecommunications Systems (ARTES) programme. 

It includes for example a new laser communications system.

This Video shows the advanced technologies embarked by Alphasat, with interviews with Roy Pinto, Chief Technology Officer, Inmarsat (in English and Portuguese), Philippe Sivac, Alphasat Project Manager, ESA (in English and French),  and Michel Roux, Alphasat Project Manager, Astrium (in French).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications/Alphasat

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2013/06/Alphasat_Technology_demonstration

Script:
EbSI-080269.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.