Agency

Swarm: Investigating the Magnetic Earth

Date: Fri, Nov 15, 2013 | 07:30 - 07:40 GMT | 08:30 - 08:40 CET

Replay: Fri, Nov 15, 2013 | 16:00 - 16:10 GMT | 17:00 - 17:10 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

ESA’s mission to study the Earth’s magnetic field is being prepared for launch.

Lift off is currently scheduled end of November on top of a Rockot launcher from Plesetsk in Northern Russia. 

Swarm is a constellation of 3 satellites flying in formation to measure the magnetic field from the centre of the Earth to the outermost reaches of the magnetosphere – the protective bubble that shields us from dangerous solar particles and radiation.

Results from the mission will be used to predict the effects of solar activity and investigate why the Earth’s magnetic field is weakening.

This video explains the scientific work of this Earth Explorer, it includes interview with Rune Floberghagen, Swarm Mission Manager at ESA and with Jean-Yves Le Gall, President of CNES, the French Space Agency (in French). 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/The_Living_Planet_Programme/Earth_Explorers/Swarm

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2013/10/Swarm_investigating_the_magnetic_earth

Script:
EbS95295.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.