Agency

Rosetta Lander science

Date: Fri, Jul 31, 2015 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Fri, Jul 31, 2015 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

The Rosetta orbiter is continuing its science until the end of the extended Rosetta mission in September 2016. The lander’s future is less certain. This film covers some of what we’ve learnt from Philae about comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko so far. This includes information about the comet’s surface structure from the Rosetta Lander Imaging System – or ROLIS camera – a copy of which can be found at the German Space Agency, DLR, in Berlin.

Data from all Philae’s instruments has informed the work of the other scientific teams. Rosetta scientists have analysed grains from the comet and discovered that it contains carbon rich molecules from the early formation of our solar system. The film also contains footage from the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Germany – where a flight replica of Philae’s COSAC instrument is maintained in a vacuum chamber to test commands. COSAC has already detected over a dozen molecules containing carbon, hydrogen, nitrogen and oxygen from the dust cloud kicked up from landing.

Both A-roll and B-roll contain interview clips from Stefano Mottola, Principal Investigator of the ROLIS camera (English); Ivanka Pelivan from the German Space Agency, DLR (English); Jean Pierre Bibring, Co-Principal Investigator for the Philae lander (English) and Fred Goesmann, Principal Investigator of COSAC (English and German).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/07/Rosetta_lander_science

Script:
EbS97723.docx