Agency

Rosetta Orbiter Science

Date: Wed, Jul 22, 2015 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Wed, Jul 22, 2015 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

It is almost a year since the Rosetta spacecraft began orbiting comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko on August 6th 2014. The orbiter’s eleven instruments are studying the comet at different wavelengths - infrared, ultraviolet, microwave and radio – as well as gathering high-resolution images and information about its shape, density, temperature and chemical composition.

This film outlines the mission’s scientific highlights so far – “a geologist’s playground” - and some of the latest science from three of the orbiter’s instruments: the Osiris camera, the microwave MIRO instrument and VIRTIS (visible and infrared thermal imaging spectrometer), which is studying the comet’s nucleus.

It contains footage from the first Rosetta science workshop, which was recently held in Rome, as well as the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Germany – where a copy of Osiris is maintained in a vacuum chamber to test commands.

Both A-roll and B-roll contain interview clips from Nicholas Thomas, co-investigator of the Osiris instrument (English); Fabrizio Cappacioni, principal investigator VIRTIS (English and Italian); Sam Gulkis, principal investigator MIRO (English); and Holger Sierks, principal investigator OSIRIS (English).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/07/Rosetta_orbiter_science

Script:
EbS97722.doc