Agency

Preparing for Vega-C

Date: Tue, Sep 18, 2018 | 05:30 - 05:45 GMT | 07:30 - 07:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Sep 18, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

End of 2019 Vega-C will be launched from Europe Spaceport in French Guyane.

Vega-C will increase performance from Vega’s current 1.5 t to about 2.2 t on polar orbit. It should also reduce operating costs and provide cost-efficient launch services.

Vega-C first stage is based on the P120, the largest monolithic carbon fiber solid-propellant rocket motor ever built, successfully tested last July. Its development relies on new technologies derived from those of P80, Vega’s current first stage motor. P120 will also be used for the liftoff boosters on Ariane 6.

A larger fairing with an increased payload envelope to accommodate larger satellites is also being developed. It will be suitable for Earth observation satellites of more than two tonnes, and the Space Rider reentry vehicle.

Vega-C will be launched from the same site used for Vega with some modifications on the Launch tower in Kourou.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Transportation/Launch_vehicles/Vega-C

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/09/Preparing_for_Vega-C

Script:
1809_002_Preparing_for_VEGA-C_Final script_Shotlist_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.