Science & Exploration

Solar Orbiter operations simulation

Date: Fri, Jan 31, 2020 | 07:30 - 07:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CET

Replay: Fri, Jan 31, 2020 | 16:00 - 16:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

ESA's Solar Orbiter is getting ready for its launch on NASA provided Atlas V rocket from Cape Canaveral in Florida.

Once in space, and over the course of several years, the spacecraft will repeatedly use the gravity of Venus and Earth to raise its orbit above the poles of the Sun, providing new perspectives on our star, including the first images of the Sun’s polar regions.

All these operations will be controlled from ESA Operations Centre (ESOC) in Germany where  a dedicated team is currently working on simulations of the first moments on orbit, after separation from the launcher but also all the delicate manoeuvres of the journey that will make Solar Orbiter mission possible.

The film contains soundbites by Sylvain Lodiot, Spacecraft Operations Manager, Solar Orbiter (English A-roll, French B-roll); and José Manuel Sánchez Pérez, Mission Analyst, Solar Orbiter (English A-roll, English and Spanish B-roll).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Solar_Orbiter

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2020/01/Solar_Orbiter_operations_simulations

Script:
Solar Orbiter Mission Ready - A-ROLL B-ROLL FINAL_TC-OK.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.