Science & Exploration

Solar Orbiter: to study the Sun up close

Date: Tue, Jan 28, 2020 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET

Replay: Tue, Jan 28, 2020 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Since November ESA’s Solar Orbiter spacecraft is in Florida in preparation for its launch on NASA provided Atlas V rocket from Cape Canaveral.

Equipped with a suite of ten instruments, Solar Orbiter will capture the closest ever pictures of our star, the first images of its poles, and make detailed observations of solar activity. Its specially designed heatshield is capable of enduring temperatures of more than 500 degrees Celsius. 

This A&B Roll shows images of preparation of Solar Orbiter in Florida. 

It includes interviews with

Daniel MÜLLER, Solar Orbiter Project Scientist, ESA (in English & German)

César GARCÍA, Solar Orbiter Project Manager, ESA (in English & Spanish)

Frédéric AUCHÈRE,  Solar Orbiter Principal Investigator  (English & French)

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Science_Exploration/Space_Science/Solar_Orbiter

Preview and download:
http://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2020/01/Solar_Orbiter_the_Sun_close-up

Script:
Solar Orbiter - the sun close-up (mission vnr)_RH2_PI_TC-OK.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.