Agency

ATV-4 Programme and Mission

Date: Thu, May 30, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CEST

Replay: Thu, May 30, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Next 5 June ESA will launch Albert Einstein, the fourth Automated Transfer Vehicle, on top of an Arian 5 from Europe's Spaceport in French Guiana.

The penultimate ATV, Albert Einstein will carry vital supplies to the International Space Station – and at over 20 tonnes is the heaviest spacecraft ever lifted by Ariane 5.

After an automated docking procedure, monitored by ESA Astronaut Luca Parmitano, it will remain attached to the ISS until October; filled with waste, it will then perform a destructive re-entry over the Pacific Ocean.

This video presents the ATV programme and describes its mission with interviews of Nico Dettmann, Head of ATV Programme, ESA in English and German and Alberto Novelli, ATV-4 Programme Mission Manager, ESA in English, Italian and French.

More information at http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/ATV

PREVIEW AND DOWNLOAD

Script:
EbSI-078642.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.