Agency

Luca Parmitano portrait and training

Date: Fri, May 17, 2013 | 06:30 - 06:48 GMT | 08:30 - 08:48 CEST

Replay: Fri, May 17, 2013 | 15:00 - 15:18 GMT | 17:00 - 17:18 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

The first of ESA's new generation of astronauts, Luca Parmitano from Italy, is about to undergo a long-duration stay onboard the ISS.

An Italian Air Force pilot,  Luca, 37,  was selected by ESA in 2009. He will fly next 28 May from Baikonur on top of a Soyuz launcher. 

Aboard the International Space station he will be a flight engineer which includes overseeing the docking of ESA's penultimate Automated Transfer Vehicle. He will also perform spacewalks around the ISS.

During six months in orbit he'll also be carrying out an intensive programme of experiments in microgravity.

 

This Video shows Luca Parmitano training in the US, Russia and Europe. It includes interviews in English, Italian and French.

More info : http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Volare 

 PREVIEW AND DOWNLOAD

Script:
EbSI-078218.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.