Agency

ESA Astronauts training in Houston

Date: Fri, Jul 10, 2015 | 06:30 - 06:50 GMT | 08:30 - 08:50 CEST

Replay: Fri, Jul 10, 2015 | 15:00 - 15:20 GMT | 17:00 - 17:20 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

It’s a very busy year for ESA astronauts!

Following Samantha Cristoforetti’s return to Earth on June 11th, two more members of ESA’s astronaut corps are scheduled to fly to the ISS later this year.

Andreas Mogensen from Denmark will be launched in September, while Tim Peake from the UK is set to fly in December.

Both astronauts have recently been at the Johnson Space Centre in Houston, Texas, as part of the intensive pre-flight training programme.

This video contains new images of their training in Houston with interviews of Andreas Mogensen in English and Danish, and Tim Peake in English.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Astronauts

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2015/07/ESA_astronauts_in_Houston

Script:
EbS97721.doc

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.