Agency

JWST : a beacon for Science

Date: Tue, Jul 31, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Tue, Jul 31, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

Astronomers all over the world are eagerly awaiting the launch of the James Webb Space Telescope.

The infrared space telescope, which will carry the largest astronomical mirror ever flown in space, is one of the most complex observatories ever built. It will allow unprecedented science, including investigations into the atmospheres of exoplanets and the formation of galaxies,  addressing fundamental questions in astronomy

ESA and the Canadian Space Agency are partners in the NASA-led international project, which will launch in 2021 on a European Ariane 5 rocket.

This A&B Rolls contain interviews with Olivia Jones, UK Astronomy Technology Centre (English), Hannah Wakeford, Space Telescope Science Institute (English), Stephen Wilkins, University of Sussex (English), Antonella Nota, ESA JWST project scientist for Guest Observers (English A-roll; Italian and English B-roll), Gillian Wright, European Principal Investigator for JWST MIRI instrument (English B-roll only).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/JWST

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2018/07/JWST_a_beacon_for_science

Script:
JWST A BEACON FOR SCIENCE SCRIPT FINAL_TC.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.