Agency

JWST Mission Preparations

Date: Fri, May 12, 2017 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST

Replay: Fri, May 12, 2017 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST

Type: ESA TV Exchange

Format: 16:9

In October 2018 a European rocket will launch the largest astronomical space telescope ever built.

The James Webb Space Telescope (JWST), is an international collaboration between NASA, ESA and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA). It will use infrared light to study the birth and evolution of planets, stars and galaxies throughout our cosmic history, advancing our understanding of the Universe. 

The JWST represents the next step for visible and infrared space astronomy after the Hubble Space Telescope, which launched in 1990, first opened new doors into our Universe.

NASA, ESA and CSA have teamed up to build this extraordinary piece of science engineering.

Expectations are high as the telescope and its instruments are currently finishing integration and undergoing major testing at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Centre. This video includes interviews with ESA and NASA managers. 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/JWST

Preview and download:
https://www.esa.int/ESA_Multimedia/Videos/2017/05/JWST_mission_preparations

Script:
JWST Mission Preparations final script.docx

Satellite Parameters: Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.